Have you ever been an Unschooler???

The last 8 days have been a whirlwind of illness here in our household!  I am more than tired.  However, more than anything: I am behind.  I know every home school mom gets behind every now and then, but I am feeling more like an Unschooler, ick the word is like salt in a wound. 

We keep up but am I doing enough? Are these kids getting all they need to excel in life?  Am I going to be a huge disappointment to them? Are they going to hate the fact that we missed a week of school due to illness?

All I know as I press on is that these children are the most important part of my life.  This little family is all I have got and all I can pray to take to heaven with me.  So we missed a week of school.  We shared germs, and toasted Rocket Pops, Crushed Ice, and Gatorade.  We snuggled in the living room and watched a million movies.  We ate Chicken Noodle soup and Ramen Noodles over and over again.  We drove each other a little crazy but wow we will remember the bug of 2011.  I can actually remember a few illness when I was little where my mom slept on the floor and she ate sherbet too, just because that is all I could eat.

So last week we were Unschoolers, we still read books and watched Mutual of Omaha Wild Kingdom.  They still colored and created awesome art.  They played games, and learned to play jacks.  We learned a lot about hand washing and we learned that Lysol kills polio but not the flu bug of 2011.  Most of all they learned that we love them.  I stayed up all night, for many nights, making sure to nurse them back to health.  I served up a lot of love and I got a lot of love back.  My husband did big shopping for Rocket Pops, Mug Root beer, and Progreso Chicken Noodle Soup among many other things.  He even made jello for the first time eva’! 

Beautiful Unschooled Art from the girlie girl!

So we unschooled this week due to illness, oh well we have unschooled a time or two or three…for vacations, and family get togethers too! 

So tomorrow it is back to Bob Jones University 1st grade and Classical Conversations reviews!  This week we will get back to the schooling basics.  We will also get back to violin lessons and horseback riding lesson and Wednesday night church.  So tomorrow we won’t be Unschoolers anymore!

Even so, the first box to cross off on tomorrows list is an American Girl tea party in the  living room tent.  The kind of tent that includes the chairs from the table and the linens from all over the house! That is where we will start school in the morning?  The last time the girlie girl asked the boy if he wanted to have a tea party…his reply was “You got any food?”  So we will have food!

Have you ever been an Unschooler??

Ecclesiastes 3:1-8 (King James Version)

Ecclesiastes 3

 1To every thing there is a season, and a time to every purpose under the heaven:

 2A time to be born, and a time to die; a time to plant, and a time to pluck up that which is planted;

 3A time to kill, and a time to heal; a time to break down, and a time to build up;

 4A time to weep, and a time to laugh; a time to mourn, and a time to dance;

 5A time to cast away stones, and a time to gather stones together; a time to embrace, and a time to refrain from embracing;

 6A time to get, and a time to lose; a time to keep, and a time to cast away;

 7A time to rend, and a time to sew; a time to keep silence, and a time to speak;  8A time to love, and a time to hate; a time of war, and a time of peace.

 

This entry was posted in Picture: Homeschool. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Have you ever been an Unschooler???

  1. mitzy bricker says:

    Being an “unschooler” is great! Take it from an old unschooling/homeschooling mom; you shall succeed because you know the real Source of all important learning! Keep up the good work—but most importantly, keep up the good humor!!! Mitzy

Leave a comment