Lessons from My Messy House.

It is a late morning here in our home.  Coffee has been brewed and dressed up with Raw Sugar and White Creamy creamer.  Its gray outside and I love and hate this time of year for that.  Sometimes that gray lets you stay beneath warm covers and stretch looking forward to the cool crispness of the morning and other times that is the “gray” that makes you want to stay in bed.

"gray mornings"

 

For me it has been the first.  I have been enjoying this week of gray days.  We have been utilizing our “home”.  Do you have one of those? You know the place you are suppose to hang your hat, and feed your soul & spirit generously in it’s shelter.  But I guess that is the thing……….how many of us “live” there.

I looked up the word live at dictionary.com and the definitions that interested me were words like this: to have life, remain alive, to feed, to dwell, to pass life in a specified manner, to experience or enjoy life to the full, to escape destruction, to practice in ones life. 

I love looking words up, sometimes it gives you such perspective.  And today I have perspective concerning the condition of my home.   We live here.  We have life here.  We remain alive here.  We feed and nurture our bodies, souls, and spirits here.  We dwell here. We pass life here in a specified manner.  We experience and enjoy life to the full here. We escape destruction here.  Our home is our refugee and we “live” here. 

Today it is very messy. It was messy yesterday, and the day before.  We have a tent fort that spans half of our living room.  In the tent fort there is life, we have read books and fed our souls.  We have giggled and passed time.  We have allowed our home to be the place where we are living life to the full. 

Now that is a Tent Fort

 Today the island and kitchen table are messy. It was messy yesterday and the day before.  The girlie girl has been creative with “a hundred pieces of tape” (her first item on her Christmas list), string, construction paper, pens, pencils, markers, crayons, sissors, egg cartons, and recycled Christmas cards. 

Creativity can be Messy!

Let the Creative Juices Flow!

We “live” here and I am coming to find that we need more time here at home.  As a Mama in todays world there is such a draw away from our home.  Our society tells us that if we are not out and about we are not living.   I am starting to realize “living” starts at home.  Living starts here in this space of safety and retreat. 

I have learned a lesson from “My Messy House”.  We “LIVE” here!   I realize that my recent interest in staying home more often and decreasing our outside activities is going to create a lot more “living”.  These little years are passing by very quickly, and I want to enjoy more “gray” days this winter with larger fort tents and more giggles.  I also want to spend more time inviting the Lord to join us right here in the midst of this refugee.  {He who dwells in the shelter of the Most High will rest in the shadow of the Almighty. Psalm 91:1}

Do  you have plans to try to spend more time at home?

This entry was posted in Picture: Household, Picture: Spiritual, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Lessons from My Messy House.

  1. Paula Vanscoy says:

    You put into print what I’ve been feeling this winter. As I sit here with tears in my eyes I have heard the Father’s heart through your words. Thank you so much!

  2. Pingback: Se7en’s Fabulous Friday Fun #53… » se7en

  3. Laura Kesner says:

    I am so totally there with you! I am loving my “home” time now days. I just wish that others in my family could slow down to see how precious that time is. Sam has always been a homebody too! There is so much value in that time.

Leave a Reply

