Cancelled

Today has been a long day.  Nothing out of the ordinary but I feel as if it has been drawn out.  I feel exhausted.  I need my coffee but I have decided on a fast to pray for several areas of life and for several people I love very much.   Maybe that is why the day seems longer?

going for a hike in the winter wonderwoods

The last week or so has included a long list of “Cancellations”. And if you put this blog in your RSS you probably thought I “cancelled” that too!  The snow finally came to our area and with the white blanket of flakes came the call to slow down and stop life as we know it.  I have to say I LOVE THAT!  I love it when snow slows everything down!  We seem to be slightly happier in many ways, we read more books, take longer naps, and we slow down.  We watched movies, built houses out of boxes, built snowmen, and took walks in the winter wonderwoods beyond the warmth of our front door.  We even do school better on snow days. All of those wonderful activities plus the ones I did not include like: playing Polly Pocket, American Girl, Toy Story, Thomas the Train, and baking cookies, cup cakes, and chocolate lava cake kept us really busy.  At the end of each night I could not bring myself to the computer to blog all about it.  It has been vacation in many ways.  I love snow days when this family can gel together and enjoy a slower pace.  Our home becomes our own small town.  It’s almost as if we take a long walk down a sidewalk full of shops and discover many things we never knew or just never thought about at all.  We have loved it. 

the nephew made this great "box house" for the kids

 

these were a sweet treat I made for a birthday we celebrated with friends

Playing Toy Story

We finally took down our Christmas tree and that was kind of sad.  Keeping the family on task was a bit of chore but we got it done singing Go Fish Christmas songs from the “Snow” album…..how appropriate! 

oh the view of snow

So I did not “Cancel” the blog I just got wrapped up in living life here in my Igloo!

building snowmen

 

 
a winter wonderland

 

 

awesome tree

going for a hike in the winter wonderwoods

I have decided to take on a “fast”  to “Cancel” the enemy’s attempt to defeat me in this life and to defeat my loved ones.  So as I fast and pray in the days to come I am looking forward to “Cancelling” the plan of the enemy!  I am looking toward the plans the Lord has for my life and listening for His voice.  I am praying for loved ones to make good decisions and I am praying for lost sheep.  I am also praying for my little family that we may love more purely and find more purpose. I pray that we are more gentle with one another and that we are forgiving of each others shortcomings.  I am praying for an attitude that reflects Jesus Christ.  I am praying for the Lord to create in me a heart like His. 

How have you handled a slower pace in life? Will you spend anytime in prayer and fasting soon or have you already been in prayers and fasting in 2011?

{Humble yourselves, therefore, under God’s mighty hand, that he may life you up in due time. Cast all your anxiety on him becasue he cares for you.  Be self-controlled and alert. Your enemy the devil prowls aroudn like an roaring lion looking for someone to devour. Resist him, standing firm in the faith, because you know that your borthers throughout the world are undergoing the same kid of sufferings.  And the God of all grace, who called you to his eternal glory in Christ, after you have suffered a little while, will himself restore you and make you strong, firm and steadfast.  To him be the power for ever and ever.  Amen 1Peter 5:14}

This entry was posted in Picture: A Personal Post, Picture: Household, Picture: Spiritual. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cancelled

  1. denise long says:

    your thoughts are beautiful and your pictures are more lovely than ever…

  2. kef1990 says:

    What a lovely post! When the snow comes and cancellations abound, I know that this is a blessing and a gift as God whispers, “this blanket of snow, this winter beauty is for you….enjoy this simple time together.”

Leave a Reply

